top of page

Unexchangeable Exchange Student Experience

My incredible adventures being an exchange student of SEAMEO's SEA Teacher program

This blog is created not only for SEAMEO for the SEA Teacher Program but also for everyone who likes to teach, travel, and discover more about the world . In this blog, I will be talking about my adventures as a pre-service teacher in Banjarmasin, Indonesia. This will include my experiences, impressions, and all the fun (and not so fun) things I did during the month-long immersion. I am most glad to share with you my journey with the hopes of making any reader see how life can be more beautiful.

Search

Time to Unwind


All work and no play makes Johnny a dull boy...and makes Ruthie old!


Of course, part of the program is the excursion. And what better way to do it than see all the tourist spots in the area.


On our first Sunday, we went to the floating market - this is what Banjarmasin is famous for. Please check the video of our shenanigans there in my gallery. ;)



It feels so good to be out and about wearing the clothes that I normally wear on a daily basis. :)

On the Chinese New Year Celebration, we were taken to Martapura, a city about 40km southeast of Banjarmasin. The city is named as the diamond city - diamond is one of the main industries. I wish we could afford the diamonds there. Unfortunately we could only buy sasirangans, batiks, accesories made from stones, and a few other souvenir items in the market where one cold find these. Mind you, the market is a heaven for shoppers. The items were relatively cheap and with so many choices. My eyes were feasting on the sight of colours. It was like a candy shop for adults! haha! I can have a behaviour of a toddler sometimes.



Can you imagine how even ref magnets, keychains, pen holders made from beads and bags made from strings can bring so much joy? I grabbed some items to give to my family and friends back in the Philippines, and also to keep for myself :D.


After exhausting my wallet buying all the goods I wanted, we went straight to Amanah Borneo Park, an outdoor park with activities for kids and adults to enjoy. I did not know what was inside until I got inside and man, I felt like I was 6 years old again! Have I mentioned I am a kid at heart?



There was a kids' swimming pool with slides, an inverted house, a maze, a rabbit feeding station, a zipline, bikes on a line, walking on a line, even buggy rides! Sadly, it was raining so we did not get to enjoy most of adrenaline-pumping thrills as the wetness made them dangerous to play with. Those activities that were indoors cost at least 20,000rupiah. As mentioned, I spent all my money at the market. No more fun for me!


Another place I frequently went to is the Duta Mall. It has almost everything that I wanted! Coffee shops, clothes of all sorts, shoes, sports section, groceries (I love grocery shopping!), restaurants (I love to eat anything!), and....dig this....


It was too expensive for me so I had to settle with just watching the people do it while my heart was dying to drive.

..a GoKart! Who would have thought a gokart racing field would be put up inside a mall?


There was also an arcade where I spent so much $$$$ on in just one night. I enjoyed that night so much that I could not remember how much I spent. Shame!


Dom and I trying to save hostages in this shooting game. We lost. Not because we were bad but because we ran out of credit. haha

I don't know what he was up to but this means of connecting with other people was phased out way before he was born. haha

I am planning to go back to the arcades before going home. Hopefully, I would still have enough time.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page