top of page

Unexchangeable Exchange Student Experience

My incredible adventures being an exchange student of SEAMEO's SEA Teacher program

This blog is created not only for SEAMEO for the SEA Teacher Program but also for everyone who likes to teach, travel, and discover more about the world . In this blog, I will be talking about my adventures as a pre-service teacher in Banjarmasin, Indonesia. This will include my experiences, impressions, and all the fun (and not so fun) things I did during the month-long immersion. I am most glad to share with you my journey with the hopes of making any reader see how life can be more beautiful.

Search

In Short...

To summarize it all:


> I joined the program because I wanted to learn more and enhance my teaching skills. Having friends of different nationalities and trips abroad a few times, I already had an idea of what living with other culture is like. However, I thought teaching and being immersed in a different culture would give me more knowledge and enhance my people skills. True enough, the program served its purpose. I got to learn how to live in a different setting, one that is not in my comfort zone. I always say "A place is only as good as its people." and Indonesians made my motto real.


> The program was designed and carried out so well that the transition from my country to Indonesia then back to my country again was smooth. The assistance given during the orientation was really helpful. The length of time was also perfect - it was long enough for me to understand different cultures and enhance my skills but short enough to not feel home sickness. I thought one more week of staying will make me sad as I was starting to miss my family already on the last week.


>Our coordinator from the receiving university was so helpful and hospitable. We were treated like family and they were always ready to hear out our concerns, not that we had many or grave ones but they were ready nonetheless.


>Though we all knew we would only be together for one month, all of us the exchange students and our buddies created a bond that will surely last a lifetime. If there was one undesirable outcome in this program, it would be the sadness we all felt in being separated after being with each other for one full month. It is not easy to be separated from the people you just created a relationship with yet this one we have to endure. We will just have to think of the good things that may come out of it - we will see each other again.


The exchange students and the buddies. I will definitely see them again.

> If there were any improvements to be done in this program, I would suggest coordination amongst all countries involved in this program with the respective immigration offices. While immigration policies differ across countries, I think it would be helpful if the students don't get questioned too much at the airport immigration. Maybe having a uniform policy for the exchange students will be helpful. From my experience, the immigration officer was confused because I said I was an exchange student and I was only going to stay for 30 days. Hearing the word "student" made her think I need a visa. I was able to politely argue my stand so she let me through but not without a warning which caused me to worry and be a bit uncomfortable throughout my stay. Perhaps if the immigration people know of the existence of this program, they might let us through without causing us to worry.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page